Latest News

Oklahoma's Blake Griffin Wins 2009 Oscar Robertson Trophy

Monday, March 30, 2009 , Posted by Christopher Byrne at 10:16 AM, under , , ,

Athens, GA (March 30, 2009) - Oklahoma may have been knocked out of the NCAA Tournament by North Carolina, but it is the Sooners' sophomore superstar Blake Griffin who has been named the winner of the 2009 Oscar Robertson Trophy.

Sooner Shooter: Oklahoma Sophomore Blake Griffin is the unanimous
selection for the 2009 Oscar Robertson Trophy. The Trophy is awarded
to the player of the members of the United States Basketball Writers Association.
Photograph courtesy of the University of Oklahoma.

Griffin has been considered the frontrunner for men's basketball national player of the year honors for most of the season. When came for the Oscar Robertson Trophy, members of the U.S. Basketball Writers Association (USBWA) left no doubt who their choice was for the best college player in the nation.

The 6-10, 251-pound Griffin was a unanimous choice by voters in all nine geographical districts of the USBWA to give the University of Oklahoma the school's first-ever player of the year award winner. He was chosen from a group of 15 finalists.

After leading the Sooners (30-6) into the South Regional Final before losing to North Carolina, Griffin finished the season averaging 22.7 points and 14.4 rebounds. He shot 65.4 percent from the field for the year.

During the regular season, Griffin led the Big 12 in scoring (22.1), rebounding (14.2, which led the country) and field goal percentage (.634) while ranking fourth in blocked shots (1.3). He also averaged 2.4 assists per contest, more than any other Big 12 player taller than 6-5. He was also second on the team with 1.2 steals per game.

At the end of the regular season, Griffin had set a single-season OU record with his 25 double-doubles (tied for the national lead and three shy of the Big 12 record) and a Big 12 single-season mark with 425 rebounds. The Oklahoma City native also had 13 games of at least 20 points and 15 rebounds this year, eclipsing the previous league record of seven.

With the help of the only 40 point/20 rebound game in Big 12 history (career highs of 40 points and 23 rebounds Feb. 14 vs. Texas Tech), Griffin entered postseason play averaging 27.3 points and 19.0 rebounds over his last four full games.

The Oscar Robertson Trophy will be presented by Oscar Robertson on Friday, April 3 at the USBWA's annual awards breakfast at the downtown Detroit Athletic Club in conjunction with the Men's Final Four. The breakfast will also honor Kansas coach Bill Self, winner of the Henry Iba Award as the association's coach of the year, as well as the 1979 Michigan State national championship team that was led by Earvin "Magic" Johnson. Michigan State coach Tom Izzo will also receive the USBWA's Good Guy Award.

The Oscar Robertson Trophy is voted on by the entire membership of the association, which consists of nearly 800 journalists. It is the nation's oldest award and the only one named after a former player. The legendary Oscar Robertson was the USBWA's first player of the year in 1959. The USBWA renamed its player of the year award the Oscar Robertson Trophy in 1998.

Related Link(s)

Blake Griffin (from Oklahoma Sooners Web Site)

Currently have 0 comments:

Leave a Reply

Post a Comment