Latest News

NCAA Division I Men's Ice Hockey Tournament Field/Schedule Announced

Sunday, March 23, 2008 , Posted by Christopher Byrne at 8:40 PM, under ,

Athens, GA (Mar 23, 2008) - The NCAA Division I Men’s Ice Hockey Committee has announced the 16 teams selected for participation in the 2008 NCAA Division I Men’s Ice Hockey Championship.

The championship playoff format involves four predetermined regional sites with four teams assigned to each site. The four regional winners advance to the Men’s Frozen Four. The entire championship uses a single-elimination format.

Automatic qualification privileges are granted to the postseason champions of six conferences. The remainder of the field is selected at large.

The University of Michigan, was the No. 1 overall seed. The other No. 1 seeds, in order, included Miami University (Ohio), the University of North Dakota and the University of New Hampshire.

The dates, sites, times and pairings of this year’s championship are as follows:

East Regional, March 28-29
Times Union Center, Albany, New York

March 28, 4 p.m. Eastern time
No. 2 St. Cloud State (19-15-5) vs. No. 3 Clarkson (21-12-4)

March 28, 7:30 p.m. Eastern time
No. 1 Michigan (31-5-4) vs. No. 4 Niagara (22-10-4)

March 29, 7 p.m. Eastern time
East Regional Championship

West Regional, March 28-29
World Arena, Colorado Springs, Colorado

March 28, 6:30 p.m. Eastern time
No. 1 New Hampshire (25-9-3) vs. No. 4 Notre Dame (24-15-4)

March 28, 10 p.m. Eastern time
No. 2 Colorado College (28-11-1) vs. No. 3 Michigan State (24-11-5)

March 29, 10 p.m. Eastern time
West Regional Championship

Midwest Regional, March 29-30
Kohl Center, Madison, Wisconsin

March 29, 3 p.m. Eastern time
No. 1 North Dakota (26-10-4) vs. No. 4 Princeton (21-13)

March 29, 6:30 p.m. Eastern time
No. 2 Denver (26-13-1) vs. No. 3 Wisconsin (15-16-7)

March 30, 7 p.m. Eastern time
Midwest Regional Championship

Northeast Regional, March 29-30
DCU Center, Worcester, Massachusetts

March 29, 4 p.m. Eastern time
No. 1 Miami (Ohio) (32-7-1) vs. No. 4 Air Force (21-11-6)

March 29, 7:30 p.m. Eastern time
No. 2 Boston College (21-11-8) vs. No. 3 Minnesota (19-16-9)

March 30, 4:30 p.m. Eastern time
Northeast Regional Championship

Men’s Frozen Four, April 10 and 12
Pepsi Center, Denver, Colorado

April 10, 6 and 9 p.m. Eastern time (order of games TBD)
East Regional Champion vs. West Regional Champion
Midwest Regional Champion vs. Northeast Regional Champion

April 12, 7 p.m. Eastern time
National Championship

The following conferences and teams received automatic qualification:

Atlantic Hockey Association – Air Force
Central Collegiate Hockey Association – Michigan
College Hockey America – Niagara
ECAC Hockey – Princeton
Hockey East Association – Boston College
Western Collegiate Hockey Association – Denver

ESPNU and ESPN Syndication will combine to produce the 12 regional games. ESPN Syndication does not mean that the games will air on “ESPN” or “ESPN2”. ESPN Regional Television (Charlotte, NC) will handle the production of all 12 regional games. ESPN Syndication (Bristol, CT) will clear local cable affiliates and selected regional sports networks throughout the country for the four (4) regional games that are not airing LIVE on ESPNU.

ESPN will televise the national championship game live April 12 and ESPN2 will air both semifinal games live April 10.

Currently have 0 comments:

Leave a Reply

Post a Comment