Latest News

NCAA Announces Host Sites for 2013 Men's Hoops Championships

Monday, September 21, 2009 , Posted by Christopher Byrne at 2:08 PM, under ,

The National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) has announced the host cities for the 2013 Division I Men's Basketball Championships.

Recognizing that 2013 is the 75th anniversary of the championship, the committee selected venues and cities which have served as the backdrop to great tournament moments such as North Carolina’s triple-overtime win in the 1957 championship game in Kansas City, Villanova’s upset of Georgetown in Lexington in the 1985 title game, the Duke-Kentucky classic in the 1992 East Regional final in Philadelphia, and hundreds of other plays, players and games that are deep-seated in tournament history.

Auburn Hills, Austin, Dayton, Kansas City, Lexington, Philadelphia, Salt Lake City, and San Jose were selected to host first- and second-rounds, and Indianapolis, Los Angeles and North Texas were chosen for the regional rounds. Auburn Hills and San Jose both earned bids for the fourth time since 1997, while Austin was selected for the sixth time since 1981. Los Angeles has hosted the championship 11 times, including two Final Fours, but has not served as a host city since 1994, while North Texas will prepare for the 2014 Final Four with a regional at Cowboys Stadium.

Kansas City, which has served as host to 28 tournaments, including 10 Final Fours, was also selected for 2013. With Indianapolis, Lexington, Philadelphia, Salt Lake City and Final Four host Atlanta having each staged more than 75 tournament games, the 2013 championship will feature seven of the top nine cities for most tournament games hosted of all time.

Dayton, which has hosted the opening round game since its inception in 2001 and will do so through 2013, has hosted 23 times in the tournament’s history. One regional site will remain unnamed while details are being finalized.

The 2013 Final Four will be played in the Georgia Dome in Atlanta, Georgia.

“It’s no accident that cities which have been part of the rich history of this championship were selected to return in 2013,” said Guerrero. “The 2013 championship will be a nationwide celebration of 'March Madness,’ its tremendous history and the fan following of one the world’s best sporting events.”

2013 Division I Men’s Basketball Championship Host Sites
(numbers in parentheses indicate the number of times city has hosted)

2013 Opening Round

March 19, 2013

Dayton, OH UD Arena University of Dayton (23)

2013 1st and Second Rounds

March 21/23, 2013 (1st/2nd Rounds)

Auburn Hills, MI Palace of Auburn Hills Oakland University (3)

Lexington, KY Rupp Arena University of Kentucky (21)

Salt Lake City, UT Energy Solutions Arena University of Utah (16)

San Jose, CA HP Pavilion West Coast Conference (3)

March 22/24, 2013 (1st/2nd Rounds)

Austin, TX Frank Erwin Center University of Texas (5)

Dayton, OH UD Arena University of Dayton (23)

Kansas City, MO Quicken Loans Arena TBD (28)

Philadelphia, PA Wachovia Center Temple University (26)

2013 Regional Finals and Semi Finals

March 28/30, 2013

West - Los Angeles, CA Staples Center Pepperdine University (11)


March 29/31, 2013

South - Dallas TX Cowboys Stadium Big 12 Conference (15)

Midwest - Indianapolis, IN Lucas Oil Stadium Butler University/IUPUI/Horizon League (15)

Posted Monday, September 21, 2009

Currently have 0 comments:

Leave a Reply

Post a Comment